Tags

On Saturday, a good friend of mine came and picked up Bill to take to her farm a few miles away. Yes, Bill is no longer on his hill. The decision did not come easily, I struggled for several months on what I was going to do.

You see, Bill was very, very alone here. Since beginning college and starting my job, my time will Bill every day had gone from minimal to zero. While I was away at school and work, Bill would chew on the side of the barn, walk in circles, and bang his head on his deck. With no other animals here, Bill was so lonely he became aggressive whenever he did have company.

Bill was also captive to any clock I was on at the time- there was no regular routine to his life that he had while I was still a high school student. Nobody else wanted to help with him, and since I was struggling to study and work, Bill was given the short end of the stick.

I am loathe to admit this, but I have known things were on the downhill slide since Nana passed away. It’s funny how horrible events act as markers on our lives, and losing Nana changed me a little on the inside… the proverbial roses stopped blooming for long enough for me to realize that my self-induced bubble that Bill and I lived in wasn’t going to be enough for very long.

Denial isn’t just a river in Egypt, folks. This is the end of an era for me. I have loved my time raising and caring for Bill, and I have loved my time writing here. Moving on with my life is difficult, but I have no choice. In the last few months, my interests have changed drastically, and now that Bill is living in much better circumstances, I feel free enough to write again. I’m going to be writing over here- as of yet I have nothing posted. 

Since I never say goodbye- I’ll see you later, dear Readers. Have a good one.