Tags

, , , , ,

Jolly Hallowe'en.

Image via New York Public Library on Flickr

Tonight Addie, Gabe, and Em are headed out to the city to do a little bit of indoor trick or treating. I was planning on going- but a last minute happening decreed I couldn’t. I sent my camera with them anyway. All three looked super cute, especially Addie, because she was playing with her little playsilk skirt for her flower fairy costume.

I’ve always loved Halloween. When I was little, I loved Halloween for the candy, and as I’ve gotten older, I’ve continued to trick-or-treat, but now I’m loving it because it’s something I can do with the little guys and still have a blast.

I remember being in 5th grade and having classmates boast that they were “too old” for trick-or-treating, but then sheepishly admitting they went. (I always went, I’m loud & proud about my love of candy & trick-or-treating.) I don’t remember what I was for 5th grade, but it had to have been good.

I have an illustrious line of interesting Halloween costumes. I remember being a strawberry, Cleopatra, a flapper, and so much more. When I was in the 6th grade, Mom made me a cow costume, complete with udders. I wanted to wear it to school (many of my classmates did) but I chickened out last minute.

This year, I’ve been unsure as to what to be for Halloween. Just earlier, I had a great idea- beekeeper! I can wear warm clothes, and I already have the veil and gloves. It’s not simple, and rather cool in my opinion.

I might not get a lot of candy (thanks a lot, Hurricane Sandy) but I’ll still be having lots of fun. Are you celebrating Halloween, or a similar holiday, this year?

