Tags

, , , , , ,

The Dead & The Gone book cover

via goodreads

Summary (from inside flap)

When life as Alex Morales had known it was changed forever, he was working behind the counter at Joey’s Pizza. He was worried about getting elected as senior class president and making the grades to land him a good college. He never expected that an asteroid would hit the moon, knocking it closer in orbit to the earth and catastrophically altering the earth’s climate

He never expected to be fighting just to stay alive.

My Thoughts

I picked up “The Dead & The Gone” on a whim- I had read the companion novel to this one many years ago, and I remembered it being deliciously written, certainly an interesting read. Reading this one couldn’t hurt, anyway, what could a little change in my usual lineup of fiction do to hurt me?

Boy, was I surprised. While “The Dead & The Gone” was well-written, it scared the pants off of me. I have never really liked apocalyptic or post-apocalyptic novels, but this one tipped the scales in favor of me never reading another book like this again.

That is not to say it isn’t a well-written book, which it certainly is. Alex Morales and his sisters are unique, thought-provoking, and enticing characters. The whole cast of the novel are each their own, ranging from Father Mulrooney’s eyebrows to Kevin the body-shopper.

The degree of realism in this novel, the precise descriptions of corpses and catastrophic events, was too much for me. I should have stopped at Yankee Stadium, but I was far too invested to quit reading. I don’t even usually read much in the macabre genre, but this book could settle in that point in between horror and apocalyptic.

Being written day by day, the pacing of the story was quick, and it sure kept the ball rolling. I’m glad it was written that way, otherwise I would have drawn out the reading of this novel into weeks instead of days. As a fast reader, I could have finished this book in one sitting, but I had to stop and  “digest” what was happening every once in a while to truly make sense what was going on.

“The Dead & The Gone” is, certainly, a good novel. For those of us who are slightly squeamish and/or easily scared by apocalyptic stories, it certainly isn’t for us. I don’t regret reading “The Dead & The Gone” but I certainly won’t be reading it ever again.

I give this book 3 out of 5 stars. Do you have any questions or comments to add to this review?

