Tags

, , , , ,

the girl who chased the moon cover

via goodreads

Summary (from back of book)

Emily Benedict has come to Mullaby, North Carolina, hoping to solve at least some of the riddles surrounding her mother’s life. But the moment Emily enters the house where her mother grew up and meets the grandfather she never knew, she realizes the mysteries aren’t solved in Mullaby, they’re a way of life: Here are rooms where the wallpaper changes to suit your mood, unexplained lights skip across the yard at midnight. And a neighbor  Julia Winterson, bakes hope in the form of cakes, not only wishing to satisfy the town’s sweet tooth, but also dreaming of rekindling the love she fears might be lost forever… The answers are never what you expect. But in this town of loveable misfits, the unexpected fits right in.

My Thoughts

If you were to directly ask me about “The Girl Who Chased the Moon” I would jump up from my chair and shout “IT’S A PERFECT BOOK” because in all seriousness, it is. Over the summer, I have read this novel at least six times, and maybe once or twice back to back. I couldn’t believe this slightly unassuming novel would suck me right in, taking me to Mullaby, North Carolina as quickly as it did. 

Emily Benedict is my ultimate favorite character. She’s normal, utterly and completely normal in her mother’s society in Boston, but in Mullaby? She’s just as much as an oddity because she’s the  Giant of Mullaby’s granddaughter, and then the daughter of town pariah. After just a page or two, you already feel like Emily’s friend, and peeking in at her life gets more and more interesting as the book goes on.

You’ll wish to eat one of Julia Winterson’s delicious cakes, particularly the Milky Way Cake that is featured in one of the chapters. When Allen describes the smells and sounds of the small-town barbecue that Julia owns, your mouth will water and you’ll be aching for a pork sandwich. Even when Emily and Julia go to the local barbecue festival, you’ll be keeping your own eye out for such an event!

I honestly believe the reason why I read and reread this novel is because it’s simply wonderful. It’s hard to put into words how you get caught up in a fictional world, and how much you wish you could have been there. I feel that way with “The Girl Who Chased the Moon” and I can say that it’s never going to leave my shelf.

I give “The Girl Who Chased the Moon” 5 out of 5 stars. Do you have any questions or comments to add to this review?

