Tags

, , ,

Bill’s got horns. I’m not talking about some dinky little things- his are easily a foot long, if they were straightened out. Goats + Horns is not always a good thing, but I’ve got a few tricks up my sleeve to dealing with goats with horns.

  • If the goat is aggressive, and has horns, do not keep it. 

Remember Cricket? The goat with spears for horns, the ones that almost killed me? The prime example of this tip- simply don’t keep a goat with horns. It’s difficult, costly, and dangerous to remove established horns off of a goat- plus, a goat with a bad attitude isnotfun.

  • Never grab a goat by its horns.

Grabbing a goat by its horns puts the goat on high alert, and prepares the goat to challenge and fight you. You might think you have control by grabbing the horns, but the second you let go you might find yourself on the ground with an angry goat- believe me, been there, done that.

  • Don’t touch a goat’s face.

I’m really lucky to have a docile goat- I purposefully raised him for me to be able to touch his face. Some goats abhor being touched on the face- and for a goat with horns (or any goat for that matter) it might trigger an aggressive response, which you don’t want.

  • Goat horns are very sharp.

One day, Cricket tried to attack me- when I had just nearly managed to get him into the barn, he flipped around, scraping me from ankle to knee. I could have prevented the situation, but it happened anyway and I learned a serious lesson- goat horns are very sharp, and avoid getting into contact like that with them again.

  • Do be aware of the goat and where it is at.

Unless your goat with horns is extremely gentle, keep aware of the goat and where it is at. Several incidents occurred when I wasn’t being aware of where the goat was at, I was taken by surprise, which is not a good surprise!

  • Do get rid of anything a goat’s horns can get caught in.

Imagine getting caught in something and not being able to see what you are caught in. Not only is a scared goat scared, but very dangerous. A scared goat can kick you in fright as you try to help. Plus, a goat can bleed to death if the horn broke off, which is another good reason for getting rid of low-hanging hay nets and other similar objects.

  • Do desensitize a goat.

Sword swallowers desensitize their reaction to choke to be able to swallow swords. If you are lucky enough to raise a goat by hand, desensitize the area around the horns so you can touch the face without triggering a negative reaction. This is what I did with Bill- and its very easy to do so.

These tips are only the beginning- but perfect tips to help you deal with a goat with horns. Remember, not all goats with horns are aggressive, and by raising the goat correctly, he or she can be just as gentle as any other goat!

Any other goat people out there have tip to add in? Please share in the comments!

