Tags

, , , , , , , ,

As much as The Intentional Spinner was informative in the sections regarding fiber choices and how to prepare fiber for spinning, it was nearly entirely irrelevant to my spindle spinning. I feel awful for saying so, but the lack of spindle spinning in this book was devastating.

Part 1 discussed “The Nature of Fiber” which included the most relevant information: types of spinning fiber, how such fiber is made, etc. etc. McCuin relates information in an unbaised way, so she leaves out personal tidbits like “I hated spinning with this” and such. I feel that the section dedicated to sheep wools was almost too small- the types of sheep wools variate as much as camelid wools do.

Also, this book discusses luxury fibers (like musk ox, bison, and cashmere) at length. As a spinner on a budget, this information (although interesting) is pretty much impractical. Yet again, I wish the section on sheeps wool was longer so I could learn more about the wools I am able to acquire.

Part 2 is dedicated to wheel spinning techniques, how to ply, finish yarns, and how to take care of handspun projets. I liked reading about how to ply yarn, but I skimmed over all of the parts about wheel spinning techniques because I am not a wheel spinner. I will say that there was a tremendous amounts of photos to go along with the spinning techniques section, which was very neat.

Overall, The Intentional Spinner by Judith McCuin was an informative and well-written read. Although large portions were not relevant to me, I still skimmed over them and learned quite a bit. I will definitely recommend this to other spinners, even if they are only spindle spinners like me.

Have any of my Readers read this book?

