Tags

, , ,

One of the many things I especially love about living where I live is the mountain behind my house.

In the summer, it rises up like a big green wave. When I was littler, I pretended that it was the walls around my castle.

In the fall, it turns into beautiful shades of coppery oranges, reds, and yellows. Then, in the winter, the bright green evergreens stand out amidst the skeletons of the trees that once glowed with color.

The other thing the mountain is perfect at doing is framing the sky. It creates a solid line, dashing the sky in half, setting a stage for beautiful cloud plays. In the picture I have, I see a big cat dancing along the ridge of the mountain. It’s not unusual for me to see a ship or two sailing across the ocean blue green, or maybe a fish jumping out of the “water.”

They sky, here, is absolutely amazing. On good days, it’s a shade of blue that only the sky can achieve. There are days where there are no clouds, but they are rare. Light fluffy clouds float by all day, sometimes blocking the sun, sometimes not. When it is stormy, the sky turns black or grey in the blink of an eye.

I would have to say the most beautiful sky I have ever seen is the night sky. In short, it is absolutely amazing. You can see thousands of stars and loads of constellations. In winter, Ursa Major looks like she is walking across the mountain ridge.

Just as I have typed this up, the sky has surprised me. I looked up to see a cloud-turtle poking his head out of his shell. A small galloping horse-cloud is running alone. The sky is a beautiful canvas that the clouds paint themselves upon.

What do you have to say about the sky over you right now?

