Tags

I’ve been volunteering at the local stamp club lately. It’s pretty great work for volunteering. It’s not hard labor, and it’s not boring. (Which is good!) I’m learning things about stamps that I haven’t known before.

I am a stamp collector. Since I love all things history, stamps appeal to me because they are little parts of history that have traveled into my hands for me to see. I own stamps from across the globe. Right now, I’m really digging Polish stamps. I love souvenir pages, too.

My day of volunteering went like this:

10:00 – Arrive at stamp club

10:00-11:00 – Work with my “boss” on some printing things.

11:00-3:00 – Work at the sell table listening to old silly men talk about stamps.

3:00-4:30 – Hang out with my boss and clipping stamps.

I have to admit that my favorite part of the day was listening to the old men talk about stamps. I worked with a Santa-type man (his feet didn’t touch the floor when he sat down!) that was absolutely hilarious! When someone would ask him for a book of covers (envelopes) he would ask: “What would you like that book to cover?”

I’ll be volunteering there for the rest of the summer. This week, I have two more days of 10 to 4:30. I look forward to getting out of this house and do something interesting!

What kind of volunteer work do you do?

