Tags

, ,

I just finished Beauty Queens by Libba Bray. Let me first start off by saying: THIS BOOK IS AWESOME. Okay. I got that out! In a short summation, this book is about a planeload of (teen) beauty queens that crashes on a ‘deserted’ island filled with big snakes and lots of lies. It shows the girls finding themselves, surviving, and figuring out how to hide Miss New Mexico’s tray-laden forehead.

Libba Bray is one of my most favorite authors. She’s written A Great & Terrible Beauty series and Going Bovine. This book is equally excellent and has full of twists and surprises that you wouldn’t even dream of. My favorite part is when Taylor finally goes crazy and builds the statue of Ladybird Hope. (Why? Because I knew it was going to happen!)

If you don’t think that girls and explosions go together, this book may not be fore you. This book breaks a lot of roles in girls that are my age. It talks about transgenders, homosexuals, and a lot of other things that girls my age may encounter and don’t know what to do. I’m not saying these girls aren’t role models before, but as the girls grow up during their stay on the island, they develop into women that are role models.

In all, Beauty Queens is a good book. It’s hilarious, suspenseful, and saddening all in one. I know it was super good because the only time I put it down was to eat, sleep, and shower! This book is great for teens my age and older, but for someone younger, it’s a little too deep to understand.

