Tags

,

Hoo boy. I’m 16 today. I can’t believe it. It seems like yesterday that I’m traipsing into my 15th birthday party. Holy cow. Today, so far, has been magnificent. Mom cooked Eggs Benedit (such a wonderful meal!) and then my Gram took me out to lunch & a bit of shopping. (We went to Applebees, Miachel’s, Petco, and Tractor Supply.)

I think that now that I am 16, I can just do it. You know what I mean? I’m going to stop making excuses and do it. That’s my big plan for being 16. Not getting a boyfriend, or being on the cheerleader team, but I’m just going to do it. I’ve already got more responsibilities than over half of teens my age, anyway.

My birthdays have always been special. My day. This morning, when I woke up, I felt happy. I like being happy. When my sleepy Dad came downstairs, he said hello, and then happy birthday. Later on, just before he left, he watched some fake-Bigfoot videos that surfaced. (He’s that kind of Dad.)

Later tonight, we (Mom, Dad, S1, S2, Brother, and I) are going down to a Big City for some Prime Sirloin. I’m taking a chocolate & peanut butter cake. I plan on eating fried catfish and french fries. (Man, I love fried catties!) I don’t care if I get gifts or not. Like I told my Mom (after she said Brother didn’t get me anything because he was cheap) that all I needed today was a break and a smile.

Wow. I’m 16!

