Tags

Reading books is one of my favorite things to do. Reading is informative, exciting, and inspiring. I mostly read historical romance novels and young adult novels like Lady Macbeth’s Daughter. (Which I will be writing about soon.) Something I wanted to start was the twice-monthly habit of writing about a book I adore. One of such books is called The Carousel Painter.

“When Carrington Brouwer receives the enviable job of painting carousel horses for a factory in Ohio, she believes her future is secure.” (back cover)

I really enjoyed this book because of the main character, Carrington Brouwer. She comes from America, but most recently she had lived in Paris with her painterly father. She’s smart, witty, and has a knack for painting. Carrington rather would be called Carrie, which she is referred to as Carrie throughout the rest of the book. As her job at a carousel factory gets better, her coworkers begin leaving and making a ruckus about working with a woman in 1890. Carrie also begins to fall in love with her boss, although she refuses the idea for most of the book. But alas, she gets intertwined with a mystery revolving around her best friend, Augusta’s, house.

‘”I read the book of Acts,” I said.’ (177)

Throughout the book, Carrie’s relationship with God becomes deeper, and she begins to trust in him. She reads the book of Acts, which enlightens her on the subject of what it takes to be a Christian. Guided by her friend and coworker, Mr. Tobarth, she begins reading the bible and attending worship services with Mr. Kaestner, her boss. (And the man she falls in love with.)

‘”My necklace is missing! My diamond and sapphire necklace. The one your father gave me for our anniversary.”‘ (149)

Poor Carrie gets swept up into a mystery concerning Augusta’s mother’s missing necklace. Augusta’s beau, Tyson Farnsworth, implies to the detective that Carrie is the one to blame. Carrie hides this from both her coworkers and boardinghouse members. She is deeply afraid of losing Mr. Kaestner’s approval, and her friends about the whole fiasco.

‘”You said to Augusta, you wanted to marry me, ja?”‘

I reccommend this book to anyone who loves Chrisitan historical romance novels. It has a well-developed plot and antagonist, as well as a well-developed protaganist and setting. As you can see in the picture, it is written by Judith Miller. I suggest going to your local library or bookstore to find and read this well written book.

