Tags

A little while ago, one of our Amish friends offered the space for us to set up a small apiary on his land. My father was overjoyed, and asked me if I would do it. I gave him a resounding yes, but when it came to my mother, she was all no, No, NO. She didn’t want the bees on her land. (My father explained again that it would not be on our land) She didn’t want to have to do anything with bees. (He explained that she didn’t have to do anything, my dad and I would) She still said no.

I am going to spend this winter reasearching all about beekeeping. I want learn, learn, learn everything there is to know. I will gently persuade her to change her mind- “home honey after a while, mommy” “honey that pays itself” “it’s something for me and dad to do together” and the like.

It will be a long time before I can probably persuade her. But that’s okay, the more time I have, the more time I have to raise bee funds and chicken funds and goat funds. The more I will know to start out on. Wish me luck.

