Tags

, , , , ,

No, this is not a post about knitting. Knitting is a part of the Super Secret Blog Project and will be further suspended from Barn Talk. But I really like this picture, and it coincides with what I want to talk about.

With great trepidation, I will finally begin to call myself a photographer.

Granted, I don’t have a business, or a fancy camera, or even an arts degree, but I’ve been noticing in my pictures that I’m starting to see more of myself. I can look at pictures and see connections to my daily life and maybe even a thought, idea, or story as to what the picture means to me.

The picture above is a great example. I was very worried that this shot wouldn’t turn out, but it did. To lots and lots of other people, it’s a picture of the corners of a knitted dishcloth that is slightly out of focus. But it sums up knitting in my life. There, and takes up a whole big portion, but it’s hazy about how it will help shape my future.

Photography is something I have only recently began to love. With the advent of the camera in September, my photography world has opened up immensely. I can take pictures of what I want, when I want. Not every picture is a masterpiece, but it is practice. Every sixty to seventy shots is a very beautiful one.

My own taste and style in photography is becoming apparent. When I see the pictures that are definitely more “arty” I notice that my play with focus is strong. Sometimes everything will be sharp and clear, and then others are hazy and blurry. My feelings effect how I translate pictures.

It makes me laugh to think about how much I have changed since before I wrote this blog. I’ve picked up new hobbies and lost old ones, and photography is something very very new to me. Photography is quickly becoming my window to the world, and I’m just starting to draw the curtains back.

