Tags

, , , , ,

Last year, I knit a very special hat. Now, since I’ve had this blog, I’ve knit several different hats. You have never seen this one. (Or at least I think you haven’t.) But this is The Hat. Knitters say you sleep with the first scarf you knit. I, on the other hand, slept with The Hat on to break it in.

The Hat is slightly ugly, but like all useful ugly things, is incredibly beautiful. A light creme color with strands of brown/black in it. None other than Lion Brand Wool-Ease Chunky in Wheat. (Second color down on third page of colors.) The Hat was worn all winter, so now the wool-part of it is slightly felted with love and it smells like Wellsboro during Dicken’s Christmas.

The Hat made its first appearance this morning for the 2011 fall/winter season. It was only a measly 50 degrees outside, but my hair was wet and my ears don’t like to be cold. I dug it out from it’s simple summer home, slipped it on, and man was my head toasty and warm.

The Hat shall never be replaced. I can knit hundreds upon hundreds of hats in my future, but The Hat is, well, The Hat. It’s become an integral part of my journey. The Hat is more than a symbol. The Hat is part of me.

